Zulum, Buni, LEADERSHIP Founder, Nda-Isaiah, Others Win Award Of Excellence

The management of Neptune Network Nigeria Limited, publishers of Neptune Prime online newspaper, yesterday presented awards of Excellence to Governor Babagana Zulum of Borno state and also the Yobe state Governor, Mai bala Buni in Abuja

The Neptune prime also awarded a posthumous honoured to the founding chairman of LEADERSHIP Group, Mr Sam Nda-Isaiah, for using journalism to promote democratic ideals in the nation.

Late Sam Nda-Isaiah bagged the Neptune Network’s “Posthumous Award of Excellence for Journalism Development” alongside the Hajia Bilikisu Yusuf.

It was double honours for the media outlet as LEADERSHIP Newspaper bagged an Award of Excellence for Newspaper of the Year. The award was received by LEADERSHIP’s director, Abraham Nda-Isaiah.

The publisher, Neptune Network Nigeria Limited, Hassan Gimba, said the event sought to award people who had excelled in various fields of endeavour amid the ravaging issue of cervical cancer, not just in Nigeria but globally.

Gimba also hailed the founding chairman of LEADERSHIP Group for providing a platform for independent perspective with a commitment to credible dissemination of editorial information.

He described him as a passionate person who was accommodating, adding that the media industry has lost a great personality.

Award recipients at the Neptune Prime Awards Ceremony and Book Launch for Lami Fatima Babare Cervical Cancer Awareness Foundation (LFBCCAF) include  Award of Excellence for Education Person of the Year, Mohammed Kyari Dikwa and TETFund; Award of Excellence for Support to Leadership & Women Development, First Lady of Kano State, Prof Hafsat Ganduje; Award of Excellence for Girl-Child Education Advocate of the Year, First Lady of Nigeria, Dr Hajiya Aisha Buhari; Award of Excellence for Research Institute of the Year, NABDA; Award of Excellence for Most Improved Company of the Year, Nigeria National Petroleum Company (NNPC); Award of Excellence for Brand of the Year, BUA, and Award of Excellence for Star of Courage and Man of the Year, Principal of Federal Government College, Birnin Yauri, Malam Mukhtari.

Other wawrdees are Late Baba-Aji Mamman and Award of Excellence for Governors of the Year: Governor Mai Mala Buni of Yobe State, Governor Babagana Umaru Zulum of Borno State, Governor Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri of Adamawa State, Governor Nyesom Wike of Rivers State, and Governor Babjide Sanwo, amongst others.

Speaking on behalf of the award winners, Borno State governor Prof Babagana Zulum, lauded the media house for the recognition.

Represented by a member of the House of Representatives, Hawul/ Askira Uba Federal Constituency of Borno State and chairman, House Committee on Covid- 19, Hon Haruna Mshelia, said Zulum is the most popular in terms of infrastructure development in the country.

“He is somebody that has done over 500 projects which cover all sectors,” he said.

He also hailed the role of the media in Nigeria to ensure Nigeria’s democracy survives.

“Thank you for this honour. We are happy,” he added.

On his part, the outgoing executive secretary,  Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFUND), Prof. Sulaiman Bogoro, hailed the role of the agency in arresting the rot and deterioration in the educational infrastructure occasioned by a long period of neglect and very poor resource allocation.

Bogoro noted that the global ranking of Nigerian universities had increased over the years.

“University of Ibadan now ranks amongst first 500 universities in the world. We will not be done until Nigeria university rank one in the first 100,” he said.

He stressed the need for protecting the girl-child against any form of discrimination.

“We, the elite, have a lot to do to promote inclusive education in the country,” he added.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *